painting the queen

August 11, 2011

this is the third [and final] of my portaits based on characters from alice’s adventures in wonderland.

i give you, The Royal Portrait

this portrait was inspired completely by the work of alexa meade, whose work i discovered recently [and shared on my other blog here.]

im struggling to decide how successful this has been.. when you work so long on trying to create an illusion, it is difficult to see it with fresh eyes. does the illusion work?? 

when i tell you that this painting is a photgraph of a live model [my lovely friend, courtney brady], who has been painted – are you surprised? did you immediately spot the trick, did you know something wasn’t quite right, or did the illusion work? please comment – if only to let me know! lol.

my suspicion [or hope] is that you thought something was odd, but didn’t immediately clock what astray.  the eyes are certainly a give away with such a close headshot – but i think the hair betrays this more than anything else. i had intended to paint the background more, inorder to break up the outline, but what with changing light, messing with the tripod, and still getting to grips with the camera – it just went right out of my head.

next time – and i really do want to try this again – i wont forget to do that. with these illusions, it is all about getting the finishing touches just right. 

so that’s all of my alice portraits. i had so many more ideas than i possibly had time to do. these three photographs were for a university project that is now handed in, so it’d be hard to feel motivated to add to this collection. but then, there are so many other themes and character re-interpretations that hold such potential that i feel it’d be criminal not carry on working on this illusion through the lens idea in some capactity.  watch this space :]

actually, i’d been wanting to learn more about photography for ages, but never made the time or had enough motivation. so working on this project over the last few weeks has been a fantastic learning experience,  giving me my first ever decent interaction with an SLR [nikon D80]. sadly the camera is not mine, but i dont see how i can possibly go back to using a compact after this! reflecting, the scary thing is that every good photo i took only made me realise just how much i have to learn about photography. this is very much fledgling territory.

anyway, i reckon that’s me hooked on photography now – this is easily going to be the most expensive hobby i have ever had in my life!

_

12 Responses to “painting the queen”


  1. Huge fan of this, I need to archive back and see the other two of the set. Isn’t photography great? It’s pricey lol. Good luck and keep up the great art!


    • thank you kindly sir, its the previous 2 posts – caterpillar and the cat. agreed, this is gonna be an expensive year.. need to decide on an a starter though camera. pointers welcome

      good name btw ;) y’know, ive never actually met a ‘chris’ who i havent liked! x


  2. Ha yeah Chris is a good name! Well I just started shooting last christmas and haven’t looked back. I use a Nikon d3100 with the stock lens. It has served me good, as well as my wife who runs a food blog, but I’m gonna get a new lens this year. The d3100 is great for my needs, apparently the cannon t1i is comparable and close to the same price. I like my Nikon but people get picky. Honestly to save money i’d hit craigslist or ebay for a cheaper one if not your gonna drop 8 to 9 hundo for a starter kit.


    • funds are limited, so will def being shopping around when it comes to the time. though i do have a few friends who are photographers, so i reckon there will be something suitable come up for sale as they upgrade later in the year

  3. Jessiepeace Says:

    I really love that painting. You have a amazing style. you have a way with your paintings.
    Jessie.

  4. Jessiepeace Says:

    Ps: the idea is amazing, painting the person trying to make it look as a whole a painting. I love it.


    • thanks jessie! i only wish it had been my idea, but im just attempting to emulate a photographer/artist known as alexa meade. it didnt come out as well as i wanted, but learned an awful lot doing it once, so am definitely going to try it again.
      are you managing to get any photography done yourself?? x

  5. Alex Khoo Says:

    This is really a great art! Nice!!!

  6. Jaye Says:

    Chris, I absolutely love this painting. I’m doing another zombie post this week. Can I post this image in my blog? I’ll make sure there is credit and a link back to this blog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

